Tuesday, November 27, 2007

More Baja 1000 Results OC Teams Dominate

Orange County Campbell claims tenth Baja Championship

For the tenth time in his illustrious off-road motorcycle-racing career, the Orange County rider won the granddaddy of all desert races, the 40th annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, Nov. 14, with fellow Honda teammates Rob Bell, Ken Norman and Steve Hengeveld. And - just like the other nine winning occasions – Campbell and crew won in impressive fashion, claiming the race's overall first-place finish. The Honda squad completed the grueling 1,296.39-mile course in a time of 24:15:50 for an average speed of 53.43 mph, finishing ahead of the Honda "B" squad by 1 hour, 18 minutes, 55 seconds. "We got blessed with some rain up north which helped us out," Campbell said. "Everything we did in planning all year worked out. It takes a team to be successful down here."

In other Orange County resident results:
Campbell was not the only Orange County motorcycle rider that experienced success this year at the Baja 1000. Craig Adams claimed two class victories in the 40 and 50-year-old divisions.
Adams teamed with Brett Helm (Poway), Louie Franco (Sherman Oaks), Jon Ortner (Santa Barbara), Jeff Kaplan (Thousand Oaks) and Bob Johnson (Temecula) to win the Class 40 race in 28:01:11. He also teamed with Chris Haines (Dana Point), Jack Johnson (Boulder City), Scott Pfeiffer (Costa Mesa) and Jimmy Sones to win the Class 50 race in 28:35:30.

Baja Racing News.com