Saturday, November 22, 2008

Norman Motorsports Destroys Baja 1000 2008

LIVE! From Ensenada, Baja Mexico:

In a race that had a race course that destroyed the best in the business, Norman Motorsports, with Roger Norman and Larry Roeseler piloted their Trophy Truck to victory early this morning in Baja California Mexico.

At the 41st Baja 1000, Roger and Larry destroyed the competition in crossing the finish line first, after running a fierce, horrific race course. Norman Motorsports won the pinnacle of Baja racing, Overall winner, getting to the finish line before all other four wheel Baja 1000 racers.

The Trophy Truck of Norman Motorsports is a duplicate vehicle of the Riviera Racing truck, once owned by the famous Nick Baldwin. The breed of equipment was a winner, Larry Roeselers magic and Roger Normans passion for the sport of desert off-road racing, combined, here in Ensenada to win the 2008 Baja 1000.

The race course was the phenom. Designed by legendary Sal Fish, President of SCORE International, laid waste to even world class efforts. It ran from the Mighty Pacific to the azure shores of the Sea of Cortez and back to the picturesque Casino at the Cove(Ensenada, Baja Mexico). Over the most challenging Baja Mexico terrain possible.

Class 1 Results

Chucky Dempsey and John Herder crossed to finish line to earn the 2008 Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 class win in their 101 Jefferies-Chevy buggy with an overall time of 14 hours, 59 minutes and 57 seconds. The team finished just over 16 minutes faster than the second-place Class 1 team in the 118 Alpha Performance-Chevy car of Harley Letner and Kory Halopoff.

Some speculated that the tight, technical sections of the 631-mile course might give the Class 1s a shot at the overall title, but that wasn’t the case at this year’s Baja 1000, as Dempsey and Herder finished 2 hours, 19 minutes and 24 seconds behind overall four-wheel winner Roger Norman and Larry Roeseler.

Rounding out the top three in Class 1 was the 117 Jimco-Chevy buggy of Ron Brant, Richard Boyle and Tom Kirkmeyer, who finished the race in 15 hours, 28 minutes and 15 seconds. It appears that ninth-place-finisher BJ Richardson, who entered the 1000 with the overall points lead in the class, earned enough points to secure the Class 1 points championship.

Honda Moto Victors

The three-man Honda team of Robby Bell, Kendall Norman and Johnny Campbell are the overall motorcycle winners of the 41st Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 off-road race. Team leader Campbell crossed the finish line in Ensenada shortly after 7 PM, last night as the team completed the 631.35-mile course in 12 hours, 29 minutes and 10 seconds for an average speed of 50.56 mph.

Baja Racing